Marketing Index

CTR (Click Through Rate)

What is CTR?

CTR is an abbreviation for Click Through Rate. CTR is often expressed as a percentage and indicates the percentage of people who click relative to the total number of impressions/views.

CTR/click-through rate is a generic term used across several branches of digital marketing and is particularly relevant when measuring effectiveness in relation to:

  • SEO: CTR; how many of those who see your search result click on it in the SERP?
  • Email marketing: CTR; how many of those who receive your emails click within them (e.g. on a CTA or similar).
  • SoMe: CTR; how many of those who see your ad click on it?
  • Google Ads: CTR; how many of those who see your ad in the search results click on it?
  • CRO: CTR; how many of those who see this CTA button, widget, buy button or similar click on it?

How is CTR calculated?

The CTR is often shown as a percentage in the tools you use for advertising and marketing across the various channels.

If you want to calculate your CTR manually, you can use the simple formula below:

CTR/click-through rate in percent = Number of clicks / Impressions * 100

For example, if you have 1,500 ad impressions on your Facebook campaign and 15 out of those 1,500 clicked on your ad, this gives a click-through rate of 1%:

15 / 1500 * 100 = 1% CTR

Where can I see my CTR?

You can view your CTR in the various analytics tools you use for each marketing channel.

Below you will find a list of where and how you can see your CTR across the typical marketing channels:

In addition, you can of course always use the formula mentioned above based on the data available to you from the individual platforms and channels to calculate your Click Through Rate.

What is a good CTR?

It is impossible to give a definitive answer to what a good CTR is, as it depends on several different factors — including the industry you operate in, the type of ad and marketing involved, the purpose of your marketing campaign, and more.

For example, there is a significant difference between what constitutes a good CTR for banner ads versus Google Ads. For a banner ad, a CTR of around 1% is very common, whereas a CTR of 1% on Google Ads is not particularly good. There you would typically expect a CTR of +20% if the campaigns are well set up and properly segmented.

Likewise, your CTR on organic search results (SEO) is highly dependent on your position in the search results. There is a big difference between what a good CTR looks like depending on whether you rank number 1 or number 30.

Want a higher CTR?

In addition to our extensive experience in giving businesses greater and better exposure, we also have significant experience in lifting CTR across digital channels. We can also help you get a better sense of whether your CTR is performing well or can be improved on each individual channel, campaign, and so on. We have seen thousands of click-through rates across industries and channels. Call us on 30 12 42 72 for a no-obligation chat.